top of page
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

Let's talk about protein powder


Why are proteins so important for your body?

I am going to give you some basic knowledge about muscles and proteins not because I think I am an expert but because if you're like me a couple months ago you probably have no idea how all this works! I found this article here: http://www.newhealthguide.org/What-Does-Protein-Do-For-Your-Body.html

"Protein is one of the most important substances in our bodies found in every single cell. Because the body uses this protein for many vital processes, we need to consistently replace it and we do this by regularly eating foods with protein. [...]

Certain proteins are great at building muscle and they include:

  • Red meat: pork, beef, lamp, bison, venison, etc.

  • Fish: salmon, tuna, swordfish, mackerel, trout, bass, etc.

  • Poultry breast: turkey, duck, chicken, etc.

  • Eggs: although the yolk contains high amounts of cholesterol, having one or two eggs a day is good for you

  • Diary: yogurt, milk, cottage cheese, cheese, etc.

  • Whey: whey is a common ingredient found in protein shakes

Protein is great for losing weight because of its high thermic effect. This means that when you digest proteins, your body will burn more calories than it would while digesting fat or carbs. Protein is also great at satiating the body meaning that if you have a meal that is rich in protein, you will feel full for longer."

More importantly protein helps your muscles recover after a workout.

Why did I start?

It started when I realized that I was not eating enough protein naturally. I am not vegetarian but I am trying to consume less meat . I felt very tired before a workout and couldn't keep up with some of the exercice because I had no energy.

Moreover, I read somewhere that if your intake of protein is too low you won't see results from working out and it is exactly how I felt.

Before bying the first brand of protein shake I saw, I wanted to clarify things with my trainer first. In my mind, I was sure that protein shake would make me bulkier and that all of them contained really harmful ingredients.

My trainer recommended one brand and I diectly decided to buy this one without thinking it twice.

Nature's Best Isopure Dutch Chocolate flavor:

It says :

  • Protein Supplement with Great Tasting Dutch Chocolate Flavor

  • Lactose Free

Fat Free. 0 grams of Sugar. Nature's Best Perfect Low Carb Isopure contains 50 grams of 100% Ion Exchange Whey Protein Isolate. Any and all impurities typically found in most whey proteins have been removed to provide you with a great tasting, lactose free, glutamine enriched, state of the art low carbohydrate protein supplement. Nature's Best set out to create a product that didn't hide anything from its customers. The protein source is clearly identified as 100% Pure Ion Exchange Whey Protein Isolate. Furthermore, Isopure contains 0g of sugar and is instantized so it can be taken anywhere and mixed with a spoon.

I take half of the dose before working out (45 min - 1h before) be sure that you digest all of it over wise you will probably feel uncomfortable or even throw up in your mouth (Yummy) (And no you don't want to know how I know that -__-). Then, I will take the other half right after the workout.

The taste is not bad at all but I would recommend buying 2 different flavors at once so that you're not sick and tired of the taste (which I am, thank god I just finished it!).

It is very pricey ($50 for 3lbs - 21 servings) though but I guess it is what it is when you are trying to have the cleaner/safer product.

What I have noticed:

  • A boost of energy

  • Loss of apetite for dinner

I cannot really say if it did something to my muscles but I feel fitter. I would have to weight myself at the gym to check my muscle mass.

If you need an extra protein intake I would definitely recommend this one! If you tried it, do not hesitate to tell me what you think!

bottom of page